Our 120-year story
And the people and places that define it
Our 120-year story began in the Parish Hall of Holy Trinity Kew in 1903 with just 36 students and a small staff. Now, Trinity stretches across four locations – Kew, Bulleen, Lake Nillahcootie and Licola – with students hailing from over 80 suburbs in and beyond Melbourne.
The artwork on the front cover of the special 120-year edition of The Trinity Grammarian magazine was imagined by James Fox (OTG 2022), who incorporated native flora found in the Cities of Boroondara and Manningham and the Shires of Mansfield and Wellington that match the vegetative zones of Kew, Bulleen, Lake Nillahcootie and Licola. At each of these locations, part of our Trinity story has been defined.
At the Marles Playing Fields in Bulleen, our young sportsmen have recuperated on the sidelines under the wattle, and in Licola, students have trekked past and camped alongside the bottle brush. At our main campus in Kew, our students have played and rested beneath the shade of the eucalypts for decades.
The Trinity community is characterised by its people and the connections between them, and the Jacobsen family is one of many who can speak of the experience of a intergenerational link to the school. In celebration of our 120-year anniversary, Peter Jacobsen (OTG 1959), his son Mark (OTG 1991) and Mark’s two sons Flynn (Year 11) and Archie (Year 8) gathered to reflect on their connection to the school, and to each other.
Enjoy this special ‘behind the scenes’ video of the front cover together with a celebratory message from the Principal and the Jacobsen family, filmed and edited by Ben Robison (OTG 2020) with assistance from Charlie Limmer (OTG 2021).