VCE Curriculum

VCE  (The Victorian Certificate of Education) is a two-year course prescribed and managed by the Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority (VCAA).  To complete this post-compulsory certification course, a student needs to fulfil the requirements laid down by VCAA to receive the Certificate at the end of Year 12, and to be given an ATAR (Australian Tertiary Admission Rank) for the purposes of tertiary entrance selection processes managed by VTAC (The Victorian Tertiary Admissions Centre). VCAA specifies that a student must complete at least sixteen units, with at least three units of an English (including the 3-4 sequence), and three other sequences of Units 3-4.

From 2014, VCAA has awarded a VCE (Baccalaureate).  In order to receive the VCE (Baccalaureate) appellation on his VCE certificate, a student must have taken a Unit 3-4 LOTE, Units 3-4 in either Mathematics Methods (CAS) or Specialist Mathematics, a Unit 3-4 sequence in any of English, English (EAL), or Literature, and have received at least 30 in English or Literature , or at least 33 in English (EAL), and have completed two other Studies at Units 3-4.

The Studies taken in the first year of the course (usually Units 1 and 2 in a four-sequence course) at Year 11 are internally assessed by Trinity and reported as an S (Satisfactory completion of work requirements) to VCAA by the School.  At Year 12 students take Units 3 and 4 in the four-sequence courses, or just Units 3 and 4, depending on the nature of the Study. (Some Studies are offered only at 1-2, or 3-4; others are 1-4 sequences.)  Trinity also offers some VET Certificate courses which have a VCE Study equivalence.

At Trinity, Year 11 students take English (Units 1 and 2) and FIVE other Studies. Year 12 students take English (Units 3 and 4) and FOUR other Studies at Unit 3-4 level.  There are occasional variations in this sequence for individual students. Students may also apply to do a Unit 3-4 sequence in a Study in Year 11 according to the policy and process described on the intranet.

Several subjects are taught in association with Ruyton Girls’ School, enabling expanded timetabling opportunities for students, and some (R) are taught only at Ruyton. The policy states that a student must take subjects at the home school if it is possible to do so.



  • English
  • English as an Additional Language (EAL)
  • Literature


  • Further Mathematics
  • Mathematics Methods (CAS)
  • Specialist Mathematics

The Arts (Art, Music, Drama)

  • Art (R)
  • Drama (3 & 4) (R)
  • Media
  • Music: Investigation (3 & 4)
  • Music : Performance
  • Studio Arts
  • Theatre Studies (3 & 4)
  • Visual Communication Design

Business Studies

  • Accounting
  • Business Management
  • Economics
  • Global Politics (3 & 4 )
  • Legal Studies

Human Development

  • Health and Human Development (3 & 4)  (R)
  • Physical Education


  • Ancient History
  • Australian History (3 & 4)
  • Classical Studies (R)
  • Extended Investigation (3 & 4)
  • Geography
  • History: Global Empires (1 & 2)
  • Philosophy
  • History: Revolutions (3 & 4)
  • Twentieth Century History (1 & 2)

Information Technology

  • Computing (1 & 2)
  • Informatics (3 & 4)
  • Software Development (3 & 4)
  • VET Certificate III: Interactive Digital Media

LOTE (Languages Other Than English)

  • French
  • German
  • Chinese – First Language
  • Chinese – Second Language (R)
  • Chinese – Second Language (Advanced) (R)


  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Psychology


  • Product Design and Technology
  • VCE/VET Certificate II: Hospitality

Some students may elect to do VCE Studies/Units 3 and 4  in Year 11, subject to their satisfying the Headmaster’s criteria to do so. These are published on the intranet.

Some Studies are offered only at Units 1 and 2 or at Units 3 and 4, mostly by VCAA, and in a couple of instances by the school for staffing and timetabling reasons.